top of page

The Brook: Vegan heaven in Hackney

A frequent wanderer in the Hackney borough, I’d often stormed passed The Brook on route to my favourite Vietnamese supermarket without a second glance at its menu. I now know how many delicious feasts I’ve missed out on and hang my head in shame at prioritising the cheapest tempeh around and buy two get one free packets of Vietnamese coffee.

Last Friday, after a long sunny park pilgrimage from west London’s Hyde Park to east’s London Fields, myself and a good friend finally came to our senses and made it through the doors. Offering a 100% vegan menu and a laid-back albeit instagrammable interior (hello plant hangers and pink neon signs) The Brook might just be my new favourite food spot.

As a lactose intolerant, veggie I was in heaven as for once everything on the menu was up for grabs and it all sounded freakin’ amazing! Think Tapas dishes of crispy deep fried avo’s, spicy jackfruit enchiladas with a chipotle mayo, butternut squash rosti and melt in your mouth buffalo cauliflower washed down with zingy juices– have I got you drooling yet, or at least intrigued? And that’s only about half the menu I need to go back at least five times to try everything!



And let’s not forget about the all-important indulgences dessert and cocktails. The rich vanilla cheesecake with gooey salted caramel sauce and banoffee pie topped with fluffy coconut cream come recommended but as with the mains it’s only right I return to try the lot. For the dark choc brownie lovers get in early as this baby sells out.

On to the booze. My eyes light up at menu’s where I haven’t seen the same combo again and again. It takes me back to holiday mode, in particular Melbourne, where I was beyond impressed with the creativity in flavours, ingredients and presentation of food and drink. Espresso martini obsessive? Give the Xocolatl a go – coffee, tequila, chocolate and chili, you’ll be up all night… If you’re the go gin or go home kind I’d recomment The Old Sage for a fragrant and refreshing drink.

So if like I was, you’re still yet to make it through the doors. I’d sincerely recommend you change that pronto, because you’re seriously missing out!

And while you’re at it why not help support this local business promoting both health and a little food naughtiness through their crowdfunding campaign here>


The Brook, 171 Mare Street, Hackney E8 3RH

0 comments
bottom of page